Patient Testimonials

Ron Williams
I recently had a knee replacement carried out by Mr Kim, the operation went very well and the physiotherapy arranged by Mr Kim and his staff has been excellent, also the communication from Mr Kim after the operation has been fantastic and I would like to thank you all for making my life a lot easier
Ann Park
I am a female age 65 years. I was diagnosed as needing a total knee replacement on both knees approximately 4 years ago. I was told by the consultant I saw at the time I should put it off as long as possible. My mobility was getting increasingly difficult, having to sit and rest after about 20 minutes of walking and standing in queues was becoming very difficult. I came across Mr Kim after looking on the internet for a possible alternative treatment. Unfortunately I was not suitable for the alternative treatment, but I was so impressed by Mr Kim’s professionalism and his caring manor and the time he took to explain new ways of doing total knee replacements, I booked in to have a Robotic Assisted Total Knee Replacement on my right knee a few weeks later. I had my 1st Robotic Assisted Total Knee Replacement in March 2018 at the Spire Manchester and the second Robotic Assisted Total Knee Replacement 4 months later. Recovery is progressing well. I was able to go up and down stairs (unaided) within a few weeks, driving after 6 weeks and being able to walk for more than 1hr. As the Spire Manchester was not local to my home Mr Kim suggested an excellent physio closer to my home, for my physio appointments. I was very impressed by Mr Kim and his team and staff at the Spire, not to forget his lovely staff at his office should you need to contact them. I was in hospital on both occasions for 3 nights. I would recommend Mr Winston Kim for anyone needing knee surgery. I feel lucky to have come across a wonderful surgeon as Mr Winston Kim.
A MOTHER and daughter are walking tall after the same surgeon operated on them both to relieve symptoms of early-stage arthritis.
Nurse Laura Turner, 29, of Bacup, was born with dysplasia, a congenital condition where the hip joint is not aligned and the ball fits into the socket at an angle, resulting in damaged hip cartilage.
And her mother Janet Kershaw, 58, a retired nursery nurse from Todmorden, had an operation to replace her kneecaps, after being left in such pain she was barely able to tackle stairs.
The pair both went under the knife at the BMI Alexandra Hospital at Cheadle, near Stockport, under consultant Winston Kim.
Laura, who is married to supermarket assistant manager Craig and had keyhole surgery, said: “The surgery has made an amazing difference to my life.
“Before it, getting in and out of a car was painful, or even simply sitting in certain positions. Since the operation, the improvement has been huge and I’ve taken up jogging and riding an exercise bicycle.”
She had undertaken physiotherapy and undergone injections and courses of painkillers before the surgical procedure.
Janet believes that her operation has been life changing, enabling her to go on climbing holidays, take part in a weekly keep-fit class and even complete a 10km charity walk.
She said: “In the past I tried physiotherapy, painkillers and injections, but nothing worked for long. The operation has changed my life. I can swim, go on the treadmill and cross-trainer and I attend a weekly keep-fit class.”
Mr Kim is a specialist in the treatment of early arthritis of the hip and knee, and has trained in world-renowned centres in the US and Canada.
He said: “Cases of hip and knee arthritis are reaching epidemic proportions as the population lives longer. The prevalence of these conditions increases with ageing.
“We are also leading more active lifestyles and have higher expectations of what we should be able to do when we are older, and rightly so. “Full hip or knee replacements are major operations, and not everyone needs them.”
He says he usually considers non-operative treatments initially, and any surgical work was ‘conservative’, where necessary.
Written by a retired General Practitioner
I suffered from Osteoarthritis for a year and was in great pain. I saw Mr Kim in February this year privately. He operated on me and did a Total Knee Replacement in March. i had very little pain post operatively and was discharged in 3 days. I have excellent straight leg raising and a good angle on my knee, up to 120 degrees. I drove after 6 weeks and i have just come back from a holiday in Portugal. A general practitioner friend recommended Mr Kim to me for which i am very grateful. I highly recommend Mr Kim to any patient with knee joint problems.
Dr Enid Noronha, Retired General Practitioner Worsley and Boothstown
The “Go To” Hip & Knee Surgeon…… Winston Kim, to me, is the “go to” Hip and Knee Surgeon in Greater Manchester. I’m a health care professional and have seen him at work. This is a gifted surgeon- the full package- talented, well trained, generous with his time, humble (if that is possible in a surgeon) and above all, a caring Surgeon. I chose to ask Mr Kim to care for uncle Jim at the Alexandra Hospital. I have seen him look after some really tough cases, and many retired doctors and consultants have placed their trust in him, and had him operate on them. My 90 year old uncle had severe longstanding knee pain, but had refused surgery for ages putting up with pain. Mr. Kim picked up the fact that it was referred pain from the hip, even though my uncle had no hip pain. His confidence reassured us. He did a hip replacement, and gave Uncle Jim a new lease of life. “You put your life and your trust in your surgeon’s hands. Mr. Kim has given me back my life and rebuilt my trust….”, reads one of over 100 reviews online on him- check it out for yourself!. (www.iwantgreatcare.org). But, I knew that already….. P Ryder, Manchester, on behalf of Uncle Jim, April 2015
Mr Kim performed my total knee replacement last September which is a complete success. I have been delighted with all the care and consideration he has shown me. He has installed me with a great deal of confidence and I believe him to be a fine surgeon who I would highly recommend. Yvonne Field
I found Mr Kim most informative about the injury to my knee. He fully explained the extent of my injury and also explained in clear terms the treatment I was to have and the recuperation period and exercises needed for a full recovery. Most impressed with his calm and informative manner and allowed me to ask questions about my injury which enabled me, through his concise responses, to better understand the limits that would be placed upon my future exercise regimes. It helped that the physiotherapist I attend had knowledge of Mr Kim, through other patients, and her confidence in him supported my own views fully supported those on myself. An excellent physician who made an excellent job of my injured knee that has resulted in me returning to by normal exercises with no restrictions or negative after effects. I have recommended him to friends and colleagues and I can think of no greater compliment I can add to the above comments. My name is Arthur Edward Roberts dob 10.12.44., and had my operation on the 17.11.2014.
I had right hip arthroscopy, carried out by Mr Kim. I was really impressed by the amount of information I received in both the consultation and pre op. The aftercare was superb. After 12 months of continuous pain and discomfort, I had forgotten what normality felt like. 1 week after op felt good, 6 weeks after feel marvellous. A massive Thank you. A.Lewis
I had a full left knee replacement in March 2014. Mr Kim was a most excellent consultant both before and after the operation. His manner was most encouraging and helped me cope with the unknown journey of recovery. Of course Mr Kim did the technical job and was supported by an excellent operating team. The hospital staff and as an outpatient for physio were all excellent in aiding my recovery. I now have almost 100 per cent recovery after 12 months. I am far better off then when I started on this road, I would recommend Mr Kim to anyone. He is a most charming person and has a wonderful manner, just what you want.
Mr Kim performed my knee arthroscopy in December 2014 at BMI-The-Alexandra-Hospital and I was very impressed with my physical fitness, movement and pain free knee after the procedure. At my six weeks post op appointment, Mr Kim explained in detail what he had done, giving me advice on future exercising -ie- what to avoid etc. His excellent approach with his patients, made me feel at ease and confident about future scenarios with my knee. The physio that was put in place couldn’t have been better and this also contributed my speedy recovery. I completely trust Mr Kim’s experience, knowledge and expertise of orthopaedic surgery and would recommend him.
Active patient after Knee Arthroscopy
Mr Kim was recommended to me , who advised I should see an orthopaedic surgeon when a twisting injury to my knee failed to respond to treatment. I contacted Mr.Kim’s office late one Friday afternoon, and within a week I had had a consultation, MRI scan and diagnosis of my problem. Mr. Kim has a very pleasant and personable manner, which immediately puts you at ease. He also takes time to explain your symptoms and gives you all the information you need to make an informed decision. I was admitted to the Spire Hospital Manchester very quickly for a knee arthroscopy and meniscectomy and as an active 58 year old I am delighted with the outcome. I was immediately mobile and had no pain or swelling following surgery. Mr. Kim is obviously a very skilled surgeon and I cannot thank him enough for the efficient but caring treatment I have received. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending him.
Patient after Knee Arthroscopy (Key hole knee surgery)
Mr Kim performed key hole surgery on a degenerate tear of my medial meniscus. I had been limping and in pain for 3 months prior to the operation. After an initial consultation ( I had obtained an MRI scan previous to this) I had the operation a day later and with fantastic results. Mr Kim listened to my concerns, gave an easy to understand diagnosis and details of how this would be corrected. I was amazed at the results. I had no post operation swelling, soreness or stiffness in the knee, in fact I walked out of there the same night with no pain, I am truly grateful. I adhered religiously to my physio routine for the first week with up to 2 hours per day in half hour slots. 4 days after the operation I was placed onto the exercise bike at physio with no pain. I am now post 4 weeks, swimming 20 lengths, back to the gym (with no running) and amazed at how well I feel. I pretty much look after myself health wise, I am not overweight so hopefully this contributed to the operations success. I would thoroughly recommend Mr Kim to anybody.
Young patient after Knee Arthroscopy
I don’t write many reviews however I want to write this one as I was so impressed with Mr Winston Kim. He was recommended to me by Adrian Howard my physiotherapist at iQ Therapies (who was also excellent at correctly picking up the problem and post operative treatment). Mr Kim was very friendly and this made it so easy to ask questions to ensure I knew what the problem was and what was going to happen both in the operation and afterwards, I needed a partial menisectomy because of tears of the medial and lateral menisci. The knee arthroscopy went very well and although there was a risk I may have needed some microfracture in the end this was not required. After only 5 weeks I am back to full physical activity, something I thought I would never be, I don’t think I could have been treated better. I would not hesitate to recommend Mr Winston Kim. From Dr B G
Young patient after Knee arthroscopy and early arthritis
Approximately 5 years ago I sustained a knee injury in an accident.
I was referred to Mr Kim at the ‘Alex’ Cheadle. After consultation an arthroscopy was recommended. The outcome of this was a partial knee was required (an Oxford knee).
Mr Kim performed this operation superbly and I have been pain free since!!
The post operation scar is virtually invisible as his needlework is so good!!
At all times he was approachable and forthcoming, really good to deal with and totally puts one at ease.
In May this year he performed another arthroscopy on my other knee after I had torn my cartilage. He trimmed the miniscus and the bone as I suffered from grade 4 arthritis on my inner knee. This has relieved the pain considerably. Another good job well done!!
I have no hesitation in recommending Mr Kim at all.
Patient after Knee arthroscopy
Mr winston kim performed for my benefit a left knee arthroscopy and partial menisectomy. Mr kim is highly professional but equally personable. Pre op consultations were informative, reassuring and on time. My operation has been in my opinion text book, and the advice and care i have received post op spot on. 4 weeks after my operation I am back at work, i expect too be jogging by mid febuary and running by early march. my quality of life being mobile and pain free is psychologically uplifting. I have no hesitation in recommending Mr winston kim and his team
Patient who had 2 knee arthroscopies, including a knee microfracture
I had 2 arthroscopies under Mr Kim , and I cannot speak highly enough of the treatment I received. In the first operation I also had a procedure called micro-fracture to get stem cells to repair worn cartilage, and as far as I can tell this procedure has been successful and I am walking pain-free now. Both my knees had torn cartilages which were removed and only 2 weeks after my second knee operation I’m completely mobile and back to normal. Also, the nursing care and physiotherapy care were both wonderful.
Patient after knee arthroscopy
I chose to see Mr Kim after reading about his extensive experience and very helpful and informative website https://manchesterhipandknee.com/ well worth looking at with loads of information. My problem was a meninscal tear to the knee caused by wear and tear which prevented me running and cycling after recent years of struggling with repeated inflammations and incapacitating pain. From my first consultation Mr Kim was spot on with his initial opinion, confirmed by a MRI scan he ordered. He was extremely responsive to my questions and concerns at the consultation and was able to undertake the corrective arthroscopic treatment the week following the scan. I had two extremely small operation cuts which were taped with butterfly tape. When I took the plasters off a few days after the operation my two incisions – one would have said scratches to look at them then, had no stitches to remove. Marvelous neat surgical work, which also made it all the easier for physio and recuperative exercises. Mr Kim also liaised with the physio to ensure excellent post operative treatment. Prior to the surgery I looked at lots of yourube videos and medical photos, on the final consultation Mr Kin gave me some internal arthroscopic photos of the tear, he said it had been a large one, and in fact it looked far bigger than any I had seen on youtube medical films or other medical reference photos. I am recovering considerably quicker than I expected to , further testament in my opinion to the skills exhibited in surgery. If I get any problem in the other knee I will be straight back to see Mr Kim with no concerns whatsoever. He is a pleasure to visit, and took great care with explanations and answers to questions. Thank you Simon B.
Patient who had knee arthroscopy for large cartilage (meniscal tears)
D Motloch, March 2014
Mr Winston Kim performed a right knee arthroscopy as a private patient at Spire Manchester. It was my 1st ever operation and I was apprehensive. It has been a successful operation. I have no pain in my knee. I had a large cartilage tear which was dealt with very successfully. I have no hesitation in recommending Mr Kim to anyone with a sports injury to the knee!
Patient after Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction
Before being referred to see Dr Winston Kim, I had been diagnosed with a tear of the anterior cruciate ligament and a meniscus tear in one of my knees. Mr Kim performed a partial menisectomy and he reconstructed my acl ligament using the patella tendon in my knee. From my first meeting with Mr Kim, I knew I was in safe hands and I felt instantly confident about the care I would receive for my injury. He informed me of the risks associated with the surgery and he talked in depth about the procedure. Most importantly he advised that although it was important he completed a technically excellent repair, the most important work would be done by myself during the physio rehab stage. He described it as a 50/50 partnership; I think that is an excellent point of view to have. The repair by Mr Kim was brilliant and it gave me the best chance of a full recovery during the physio work I have been completing since the operation. From the research I carried out before meeting Mr Kim, the only option for acl repair I would have selected is the patella tendon graft. This is Mr Kim’s area of expertise and I think it is the best choice if the option is available to you. The follow up appointments with Mr Kim were great and they really boosted my confidence and motivation, as I was aiming to show improvements in my condition before each meeting. I cannot stress how important it is that you are patient with your rehab, especially in the early stages. Researching acl recovery programmes and milestones will help a lot during the recovery process. The three things you need for a good recovery from an acl operation are a good surgeon, good physiotherapist and a dedicated patient. Thanks to Mr Kim I can now return to a normal life with a stable knee, 10 months on from the procedure I can run, sprint, turn and ride my bike.
Mr John Bent, Co-Founder Bents Garden and Home, Feb 2014 after Hip Surgery
Mr Kim, Thank you for the great job you have done on me I thought my walking days were over and I would have to be satisfied with being am old man , suddenly I seem to have a new lease of life . Thank you. John Bent , Co-founder Bents Gardens and Home, Feb 2014.
General Recommendation
Written by a patient
Excellent care from start to finish from dr kim, if needing surgery or any other treatment in the future i will mist certainly go back and see him. Very happy!
Young patient after Knee Replacement surgery
Had a right knee replacement under Mr Kim’s care at the Alexandra Hospital Jan 2013. Extremely hppy with the outcome of the op, although was apprehensive before the op, as I’m quite young (50’s). Would recommend it now though!. Now needing the left knee replaced going back to see Mr Kim. Have no hesitation in recommending anyone having knee replacement surgery- choose your surgeon well though!
Young patient after knee replacement
I found Mr Winston Kim very helpful and he explained every step of my Knee replacement procedure and his follow up manner can only be praise highly. I have to have a further knee replacement by Mr Winston Kim in November 2013 and feel totally safe and happy for him to carry out this procedure.
Patient after two Knee replacements
I have had full knee replacement surgery on both knees in the last 12 months with both operations being performed by Mr Kim. He was highly recommended by a member of staff at the referring clinic for his skill, competence and caring manner with patients. I can now personally attest to all those qualities.
As a person who is extremely nervous about any medical appointment, let alone two operations, I found Mr Kim to be incredibly kind and patient. He allayed many of my fears with his calm approach and willingness to listen to me and discuss the process before, during and after the operations, in great detail. The quality of care I received was first class and whilst I am in the early stages of recouperation from the second knee operation, the first went extremely well and has given me hope that I can regain greater mobility and have a more active lifestyle even though I am in my 80s.
I would also like to thank all the staff – clerical, medical/surgical and physiotherapy – at the hospital (The Alexandra, Cheshire) for their exemplary care of me on both occasions. The standard of cleanliness in the hospital was extremely high and the food was marvellous.
Patient after Total Knee Replacement
My experience at the Spire Manchester Hospital for a total knee replacement was exceptional. From my first visit, through to my operation, ward care and physio, I was treated superbly. I cannot recommend it too highly. Great care.Thank you
Roy Gordon, May 2014
From family of patient who had severe knee arthritis and Total Knee Replacement
Written by a carer, whose mom had severe knee arthritis and a total knee replacement
“I thought Mr Kim treated my mother with great respect and informed her fully regarding all that would happen and what could be expected. Mr Kim’s care was greatly appreciated and made my mother feel at ease. During my mother’s stay at The Alexandra most of the staff were lovely and caring towards her…..”
Patient after Knee Replacement
” I would just like to say that the attention and care that Mr Kim showed to me throughout my treatment was second to none. He is a caring and attentive man who’s professionalism towards me from my first consultation with him right through to my being discharged from Hospital was exemplary. I would highly recommend him to anybody needing Orthopaedic surgery. In fact I would like to add to this review a glowing appraisal of the whole team/staff. They were wonderful.” Thanks, Mrs Pat M
Patients for Complex Knee Procedure
Thank you for the time you gave us tonight during the appointment with you. It was fantastic to listen to your knowledge and explanation of what the best options would be. We could tell you are truly passionate about your work and we feel total comfortable in the knowledge things will be sorted out. Patient T and PS.
Patient after Total Knee Replacement
Mr Kim replaced my Knee Jan 2013. I have since been able to walk and without discomfort. The treatment I received whilst in hospital was very good and Mr Kim called in every day to see if I was OK. I would recommend Mr Kim for this operation to everyone.
Young active patient after a knee replacement
You are a wonderful man. Thank you for my new knee, I look forward to my other knee being done. Patient GL.
Patient after total knee replacement
Thank you so very, very much for the great job you have done on my husband’s knee from both of us. PAtient D and MM.
Young, active patient after knee replacement surgery
“During the past three weeks I have been to New York City where I walked considerably and just this week I have returned from North Wales, having enjoyed long walks in Snowdonia – activities I could only dream about previously. I am indebted to you for your skill and attention you gave me. These days such things are often taken for granted, but I would like to say a heartfelt thank you – you have given me the quality of my life back”. Patient MP
Patient after knee replacement surgery
Thank you so much Mr Kim for all your care and expertise. Everything was top class and I look forward to being active and healthy again in the near future. Patient DC
Patient after knee replacement surgery
Thank you for the pain relief you have given me. Patient DH
Patient after Knee replacement surgery
I am walking again and I could not tell you enough how good this feels. I want to thank you and your team most sincerely for making this happen. Patient AO
Listen to a testimonial from a young patient who had a partial knee replacement

Write a review

If you're interested in submitting a testimonial for Mr. Winston Kim, Please use the form below to do so.

Thanks!

Fields marked ( * ) are required